TECHNIQUES

 

For Hand-Shaping my pieces, I particularly like the coil building, and slab building. But I can just as easily start from a clay ball by pinching. After a first bisque firing at low temperature, I apply carefully enamels elaborated in my workshop and the pieces are fired in my electric kiln at high temperature. For the lamps, I weld strings of LEDs together powered by thin electric wires. I install them in my porcelain tubes then I mount them on a tailor-made lamp holder / lamp cover.

montage au colombin
Coil bulding

 

Most of my pieces are coil-build. This is an ancestral technique that I particularly like because it is basic, progressive and allows to carry out with great freedom forms infeasible on the potter's wheel, or slab-building. It is certainly the oldest technique in the world which requires almost no tools. The pieces obtained are full of curves and sinuosities.

 

étalement de plaque de grès au rouleau
Slab building

 

I work with clay slabs, cut, curved and  put  together.  Assembling the piece looks more like an assembly of “prefabricated” pieces. The resulting volume has both controlled curves and marked angles.

 

estampage de grès pour ébauche de contenant
Stamping

 

I sometimes start my pieces by stamping, this consists of pressing clay against a shape that I designed, or an existing  obect I chose . Then I add some coils or slabs to finish the piece.

 

modelage dans la masse, "à la boule"
Ball or mass

 

I start my work from a piece of clay that I make into a ball and then transform it by pinching, digging it out or adding material to it.

 

émaillage à la coulée
Decor techniques

 

Clay is my basic material, sandstone in particular. Such as, I find it beautiful whether it is raw or fired. Also, it is essential, for me, to look at it with no other artifice. I want us to be able to apprehend it, touch it in its crude state. My pieces always reveal stoneware or porcelain whether they are smoked, engobed, enamelled at low or high temperatures. So that the dishes and dishes meet everyday use, I make my high temperature enamels using non-toxic fluxes and oxides.

 

soudage LED dans tube porcelaine
Lighting

 

 

My pendant luminaires are hand made from three parts. For the supports, I use plates of stainless steel, steel, aluminum, or plexiglass. This list is not restrictive, I could absolutely use wood, or any other type of material. For the electrical part, I use very thin sheathed power wires, different types of LEDs and power drivers.  I make the illuminated lampshades of porcelain or porcelain paper, translucent énd lively.

TECHNIQUES

 

Pour le montage de mes pièces, j’affectionne particulièrement le montage au colombin, l’estampage et la plaque. Mais je peux tout aussi bien partir d'une boule ou d'une masse de terre que je creuse. Les pièces sont cuites une première fois en oxydation à basse température. Après dégourdi, j’applique des émaux élaborés dans mon atelier et les pièces sont cuites dans mon four électrique à haute température. Pour les lampes, je soude des chaines de LEDs les unes aux autres alimentées par des fils électriques. Je les installe dans mes tubes de porcelaine puis je les monte sur mes supports.

Au colombin

 

Je monte mes pièces essentiellement au colombin. C’est une technique que j’affectionne tout particulièrement car elle est basique, progressive et permet de réaliser avec une grande liberté des formes infaisables au tour ou à la plaque. C’est certainement la technique la plus vieille au monde qui ne nécessite quasiment aucun outil. Les pièces obtenues sont pleines d’arrondis et de sinuosités.

 

A la plaque

 

Je travaille à la plaque, là, le montage des pièces ressemble plus à un assemblage de morceaux « préfabriqués ». Le résultat obtenu est moins arrondi et présente davantage d’angles.

 

L’estampage

 

Je démarre parfois mes pièces en estampant, ceci consiste à appliquer de la terre contre une forme choisie existante. Puis je continue et termine la pièce aux colombins ou à la plaque.

 

Boule ou masse

 

Je commence mon travail à partir d’un morceau de terre que je forme en boule pour ensuite le transformer en le creusant ou en y ajoutant de la matière.

 

Techniques de décors

 

La terre est mon matériau de base, le grès en particulier. Telle que, je la trouve belle qu’elle soit crue ou cuite. Aussi, il est primordial, pour moi, de pouvoir la voir sans autre artifice. Je veux qu’on puisse l’appréhender, la toucher à l’état brut. Mes pièces laissent apparaître le grès ou la porcelaine qu’elles soient enfumées, engobées, émaillées à basses ou hautes températures. Afin que la vaisselle et les plats répondent à un usage quotidien, je fabrique mes émaux haute température à l’aide de fondants et d’oxydes non toxiques.

 

Luminaires

 

 

Mes luminaires se décomposent en trois parties. Pour les supports, j’utilise des plaques d’inox, d’acier, d’aluminium, de plexiglas. Cette liste n’est pas restrictive, je pourrais tout à fait utiliser du bois, ou tout autre type de matériaux. Pour la partie électrique, j’emploie des fils d’alimentation très fins gainés, différents types de LEDs et de drivers. La partie éclairée est réalisée en porcelaine ou en porcelaine papier. 

 

PROPRIÉTÉ
INTELLECTUELLE
MENTIONS
LÉGALES

Anne Krieg

21, rue Bonnat

31400 TOULOUSE

06 01 97 39 12

krieganne@gmail.com

Copyright © 2019

Photographies :

Jean-Pierre Montagné

Gilles Leimdorfer

Elsa Bardout

Anne Krieg

Web design :

Elsa Bardout

SAIF 006476

SIRET 79148982600010

APE 2341Z

Normes CE

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon